[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Legal Notification
On Sun, 1 Sep 2002 23:48:20 -0500, Dave Uhring wrote:
>On Sunday 01 September 2002 11:40 pm, Eric Johnson wrote:
>> On Sun, 1 Sep 2002 18:38:23 -0500
>>
>> "Dave Uhring" <duhring@charter.net> wrote:
>> > https://rn.ftc.gov/dod/wsolcq$.startup?Z_ORG_CODE=PU01
>>
>> If it is not a joe job, there is very little doubt that
>> it is extortion.
>>
>> In that case, complaints to the FBI would probably be
>> better.
>>
>> Eric Johnson
>
>I personally am not "ports@openbsd.org", so my complaint would have no
>legal standing. Perhaps some person with that standing should make the
>complaint. It certainly appears to be an extortion attempt.
>
>
>
No. It is an attempt to discredit ISC2. See the message below (and note
the date it was sent is NOT in the future):
==quote==
"wcamilleri"
<forum@isc2.org> To:
cisspforum@yahoogroups.com
cc:
11/07/2002 10:49 Subject: [cisspforum]
ISC2: SPAM with forged ISC2 email addresses
PM
Please respond to
cisspforum
Hi:
As you are probably aware, (ISC)2 has been receiving hundreds of
complaints about Spam using forged (ISC)2 e-mail addresses. We have
posted an Alert about this in the CISSP Alerts page.
Because of the nature of the incident and the ongoing investigations,
we have not issued any press releases or posted information about
this on the public area of the web site.
We have reported this incident to the FBI and the US Federal Trade
Commission. Legal action against an individual who we believe may be
behind this spam and other threatening e-mail messages has been
initiated by or lawyers.
We have also contacted ISPs and other organizations that may have
open relays and compromised systems to check their systems and to
remove vulnerabilities from their systems.
This incident shows that we still have a long way to go to get the
message home that systems must be secured, patches must be installed,
etc., etc., etc.
If you receive any information about (ISC)2 related spam or if you
receive any of these or other spam messages with forged (ISC)2 e-mail
addresses, please forward all information including Internet headers
to abuse@isc2.org.
Please refer any media inquiries about these incidents to Maples
Communications at +1.949.477.0710. Maples Communications is (ISC)2's
Public Relations firm.
Cheers,
Wilfred
webmaster@isc2.org
*****************************************************
I hope this clarifies the matter somewhat.
BTW contrary to another post in this thread the ISC2 mail server was
not hacked.
Quoting a buddy who is a CSSP instructing for IBM in security matters:
" However, somebody sent out a spoofed email *saying* that the ISC2
site had been hacked - a further step in this individual's campaign of
misinformation. He is obviously one unhappy SOB. ."
In the beginning was The Word
and The Word was Content-type: text/plain
The Word of Rod.